How do men react to your Natural Hair?

22 Aug

This post was inspired by a series of events, I just had to speak on it.
My boyfriend sent me the cutest/funniest texts yesterday about going natural and ironically yesterday one of my male followers on twitter decided that I’m doing the most with celebrating my natural hair. To be honest, I didn’t think this natural hair movement had too much effect on males nor did I think they paid attention to me when I tried to enlighten and share my insight. I thought I was doing something positive and constructive for the women in my community. Although, it did make me flashback to an ex-boyfriend who went as far as to say I was ugly after I cut my hair to a TWA. Needless to say, I got out of that relationship but I just can’t help but wonder how many females want to go natural but are scared they won’t be accepted or feel attractive to the opposite sex.

To me though, it is a celebration. After being masked behind relaxers and straight hair for years, I think we (women of color) finally have something to be proud of and that’s being comfortable in our OWN skin. Looking the way God intended us too. We are finally regaining our own identity and for that I see all the reason to celebrate.

However, considering most naturals are pretty much obsessed with anything involving natural hair, natural products and natural lifestyles, I’m sure we can sometimes be a tad overwhelming to our mate or opposite sex. Even if going natural isn’t a whole lifestyle change for you as it is for others, could you stay with someone or be around a person who didn’t care for your hair or didn’t share your enthusiasm? Or is that Petty? Please share your thoughts.

-Cee

One Response to “How do men react to your Natural Hair?”

  1. Dezzy August 22, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    I think going natural is a positive lifestyle change. Black women are finally celebrating who we are & of course some weak black men are gonna be intimidated by that. The guy I'm w. now loves my hair even though I am a little obsessive. I think any real, mature man will love to play in his woman's hair opposed to her saying “don't touch my hair,I just got it done.”

Leave a comment