Good HEAD: Tonya

1 Oct

 

 Introduce yourself !

My name is Tonya aka Tonya Juanise in the web world. I’m 27 years old and residing in Richmond, VA. I’m a graphic designer and a huge lover of fashion and all things art! I’m also obsessed with natural hair!
 How long have you been natural?
I have been natural since September of 2010.
Did you transition or big chop?
I did not transition because I am a “spur of the moment” type of chick at times, plus I was ready to start caring for my natural hair, so once I had a little bit of new growth I chopped off all my hair.
 Whats is your regimen?
I shampoo once a week with Shea Moisture’s Moisture retention shampoo, I condition with Aussie Moist, and I make sure to deep condition every week with Shea Moisture’s Anti Breakage Masque. Once I wash the deep conditioner out, I finger detangle under the shower head. For the moisturizing / styling process, I use Shea Moisture’s Restorative Conditioner as a leave-in, I seal with castor oil, and then I twist or braid my hair with Qhemet Biologic’s Alma & Oil Heavy Cream. The Alma & Oil Heavy Cream is the bomb! It leaves my hair super soft and shiny the next day!
 Did going natural change your personal style?
Going natural didn’t change my style much, but my hair does allow me to be just a tad bit more creative/funky with my choice of clothes/accessories.
 If your hair could talk what would it say?
If my hair could talk it would say thank you for finally letting me be free and giving me the chance to show off who I really am! I say this because of course as most Black women, I had been relaxing my hair for years and never knew my real texture. I was abusing my hair and I was ashamed of it for years. Now I’m finally loving it and taking care of it like it deserves.
 Do you consider yourself a Knotty Girl? and why?
I consider myself a Knotty Girl because I’m a beautiful, natural, Black woman and I accept myself for who I am. I think that is awesome considering we live in a society where natural hair is viewed as “ugly” or “something that needs to be fixed”. I’m bold, I’m a boss, and I call the shots without caring what others think!
What do you love most about your good head?(Hair Everyone Adores & Desires)
Yes, I have good hurr!!! LOL I love the fact that my hair is so versatile which many naturals can vouch for. One day I can rock my hair in its shrunken coily/frizzy/puffy state, then I can wear it in stretched styles such as braid outs/twist outs. My hair is special and its like it has a mind of its own. It’s big, its vibrant, it stands out, and I just let it do its own thing. I love how soft, full, thick, and luscious my hair is and most importantly I love my good hair because it’s me!
You can catch Tonya on Twitter @tonyajuanise or on Instagram @tonyajuanise.

Leave a Reply

