Good HEAD: Kelli

8 Oct

Meet the Knotty Girl of the week: Kelli

Introduce yourself !  

My name is Kelli Neché and I am one part of the brand, Notorious Styles (www.NotoriousStyles.org). We are RVa fashion bloggers who love adding an essence to being nappy, fashion tips/trades as well as showcasing local talent.

How long have you been natural?

I’ve been fully natural for a year this month and I’m loving every minute of learning my hair.

Did you transition or big chop?

I started off transitioning in October 2010, getting blowouts and trying rod sets but after about six months I was tired of my hair doing it’s own thing, natural products didn’t work not did products for relaxed hair. I came home just one day, got in the mirror and chopped it off myself in mid-August of 2011. At first I had no idea what I was doing.

Whats is your regimen? 

I’m co-washing once a week, shampooing once a month with Motions Naturally Me cleanser and conditioner and deep conditioning every other week. When I deep condition I use a conditioning method called “baggying” right after. This is when you get most of the water from your hair with an old T-Shirt or paper towels, apply your leave-in and a light moisturizer, then put a plastic bag or shower cap over your hair. It can be left on either overnight or for several hours, then diffuse the next morning.

Did going natural change your personal style?

I don’t believe being natural changed my personal style, I was always really big on vintage and dressing how I felt but it did make me want to free everyone of their creamy crack addition.

If your hair could talk what would it say?

If my hair could talk it would probably be screaming “LOOK AT ME! LOOK AT ME!!”.

Do you consider yourself a Knotty Girl? and why?

I’m a Knotty Girl because I feel there is definitely a way to bring an essence to being “nappy” or KNOTTY in this case. A lot of times people take being natural as being nappy headed or that I’m at war with women who are relaxed. No, I just love the natural me and there’s a way to be naturally classy without chemicals.

What do you love most about your good head?(Hair Everyone Adores & Desires)

The best part about my GOOD HEAD is how kinky and tight it is. My curl pattern gives me life and I love how deceiving it is….most days!

 

Leave a Reply

