Good HEAD: Lauren

22 Oct

Meet Knotty Girl Lauren!

 

Introduce yourself ! 

Hello ALL! I’m Lauren! Official VCU Alum in May! Thanking God for it right NOW!  I work as both a Clinical Lab Assistant & Medical Staff Coordinator. Advocacy by day, and a crazed online shopper by night. I compulsively hoard cosmetics and travel the world in my free time.

How long have you been natural?

I have been natural all of my life. Truthfully, I was always afraid to relax. In addition, my mother wouldn’t let get me the one time I did ask. LOL.

Did you transition or big chop?

I did neither. Sometimes people think “natural” hair represents limiting yourself to your natural curl pattern ALL THE TIME. I believe the opposite to be true. In my 22 years of life, I have done more dying, cutting, weaving, and styling with this natural hair than ANYONE could with any chemically treated hair. I think that’s the beauty of it.

Whats is your regimen? 

I never shampoo. Well, except once every 3 months or so. I only co-wash with Giovanni conditioners. (I prefer the tea tree kind, but I’ve used them all.) I’ll load my hair up with conditioner & bobby pin it on top of my head while in the shower. Other times I use it as a leave in. I moisturize with my homemade mix of mango butter & coconut oil. I like to section my hair and rub it in right out of the shower. My wash and go’s are all consumed by DevaCurl products (OneCondition & SetItFree). Lately, I have been roller setting my hair on mesh rollers, which allows me to cut the heat altogether. I usually reserve my wash & go’s & twist outs for summer while my protective bun, roller sets, and rare occasion flat ironing are for winter.

Did going natural change your personal style?

I don’t think so. Most people know me to be an outspoken and eclectic soul anyway. (See: twitter rants.) Whether, straight, curly, or anywhere in between; my hair has always just been another compliment to my style.

If your hair could talk what would it say?

“You treat me so bad, but I love you anyway.” I am actually trying to become more conscious about actually combing my hair and wrapping it up at night. Usually, I do not. I need to start taking better care of it.

Do you consider yourself a Knotty Girl? and why?

I think so because I really feel like there’s an element of embracing who you are in the Knotty Girl movement. I wholeheartedly believe in working with what you have. I can’t achieve a massive curly fro like I want. My hair is too fine and won’t do that. Instead, I may brush it up into a high bun, that shows off my wavy texture. Be grateful for whatever God gave you and cherish it. As is.

What do you love most about your good head?(Hair Everyone Adores & Desires)

Even when I know I haven’t done my best, exerted the maximum effort, and things turn out sloppily…….my hair still looks and makes me feel good. I also love that my hair doesn’t look anyone else’s in its natural state.

Lauren is also a blogger! Check out her sight http://addictedtoallthingspretty.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

