Don’t Stop, Big Chop: Jasmine

27 Oct

Why did you bigchop?  I will say that I was influenced by the amazing women around me. I wanted strong, healthy hair, and going natural was the only way that I could achieve this goal. I began transitioning in February 2012 because I had decided it was time to stop talking and begin my journey to being natural. I watched my my mother battle with cancer for three years, and during that time she lost all of her hair, and she struggled with finding beauty in her new all salt and pepper TWA. She loved a head scarf or a funky jet black wig with bangs because that it is the hair style she wore for many years. I let my mother know everyday that she was beautiful not matter how her hair was because that naturally coily salt and pepper fro on her crown was beautiful and accented her beautiful face flawlessly. On May 15, 2012 my mother lost her battle with cervical and my entire life was flipped upside down. After losing my mother, I felt it was time for a change physically and mentally. I decided to dedicate my big chop in remembrance of my mother, Diane C. Booth. My big chop marked the beginning of a new chapter in my life as a stronger, healthier, and natural woman.

When did you big chop? August 22, 2012  

How did you feel? I was terrified of how I would look with short hair. I have NEVER had short hair in my life, and I had always had a perm since I was a little girl. So I had no idea how my natural hair texture may look, but at the same time I was excited about this new hair journey I was about to embark on.

 What was your reaction?  I was pleasantly surprised. My face was taking center stage and my crown of coily curls complimented it so well. I loved my new TWA. My stylist gave me a few Design Essentials products to try out, but after going to a Return of the Curls event and receiving Shea Moisture products, I fell in love.

What are you doing to take care of your hair? I mostly use Shea Moisture products. I also have a Motions “Marula Natural Therapy Hair & Scalp Oil” with 100% Marula oil that I love, and the Curls goddess curls. My daily regiment is to spray my oil/water mixture to moisturize my hair and then seal it with one of my Shea moisture products like the Curl Enhancing Smoothie or with Shea Moisture Curling Soufflé. It leaves my hair feeling so soft, hydrated, and shiny. Once a week I co-wash with the Shea Moisture Reconstructive Conditioner, and I apply the Shea Moisture Deep Treatment Masque at night and use it as a leave-in conditioner. I only wash my hair when it feels like I have to much product on it. Maybe every 3 weeks I will wash my hair with the Shea Moisture Curl & Shine Shampoo, then use the Deep Treatment Masque as a leave-in conditioner. I have been making up my regiment as I go along. I go by what feels right, and I give my hair what it needs when it needs it. I feel like you can never over condition your hair.

Do you regret your decision? No I do not regret my decision. It is one of the best decisions I have ever made in my life. It has definitely changed me as a person and given me a boost of confidence. It also saves me time in the morning. All I have to do is Moisturize, Seal, Fluff, and Go!

What words of encouragement would you give someone contemplating the big chop?  I would tell anyone who is considering the big chop, to JUST DO IT! It will definitely change your life in a positive way. Just let your natural beauty shine bright.

One Response to “Don’t Stop, Big Chop: Jasmine”

  1. Yomi December 7, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    Your hair is gorg!

Leave a Reply

