Different races liking your natural hair more than your own

31 Oct

Am I the only one that feels like other races seem to be more attracted to my natural hair then my own? Sometimes, I feel like the only people of my race that like my hair are other naturals themselves. When other races approach me they are almost amazed that my hair can stand straight up one day and be perfectly curly the next. The only response I get from other black women are “Oh, that’s different” or “I could never go natural”. It’s not like I’m fishing for compliments either. I just ¬†never hear from other black women that my hair looks nice until my hair got to a pretty decent length. Thats when everyone around me wanted to go natural, when they saw that I didn’t have a TWA anymore. It’s kind of upsetting that woman of other cultures support me more than my own.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

-Cee

3 Responses to “Different races liking your natural hair more than your own”

  1. bellamylove78 November 7, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    I agree. My cousin who is natural always says to me that black men in particular aren’t into her hair as much as non-black men. Some, but not all, black men definitely are preoccupied with hair length, texture etc. I think, however, that as natural hair is more commonly worn by black women, the men will start to come around.

  2. MicheleNicole November 11, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    I agree with bellamylove78.. Ive been natural almost 3 years, and black men seem, not to like my hair. But, men of other races, love my hair. I feel the same way about women as well… If you are not relaxed, then I guess its not right. I compliment people on there hair, if I like it. Relaxed or natural… That’s just how I am…

  3. Alexis November 12, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    I completely agree!

    I’m currently transitioning, so I’ve been doing a lot more twist and updo styles. I get looks from my black co-workers like, “bad hair day, huh?” But on the flip side, my white co-workers love my hair! I find it sad that my hair is liked only by black people when it’s in a damaging style, not my hair or being chemically treated.

Leave a Reply

