Good HEAD: Shakira

12 Nov

 Introduce yourself ! 

Well hellooooo!! My name is Shakira and I was born and raised on the tropical island of Grenada. I’ve lived Richmond for the past 3 years but resided in Florida since I was 13.

 How long have you been natural?
I have been natural for 1 year and 11 months. This was my third time being natural. I’m going all the way this time.
Did you transition or big chop?
I big chopped on January 1st  2011. I figured what the heck it’s just hair so why not cut it all off and start fresh.

Whats is your regimen? 
Every 2 weeks I wash and deep condition with a hair therapy wrap and style accordingly. It really depends on my mood. During the first year of being natural I was a twist out whore but then I realized my hair was definitely growing and I had to start experimenting with different styles, also twisting my hair took about 1 movie and an hour long tv show. Now I flat twist or do big twist outs. When I’m feeling frisky I do a bomb protective style.

Did going natural change your personal style?
Going natural made me buy more earrings and learn how to apply make up lol. It also made me feel like I had to really pay attention to what I was putting in my body, not just on. The biggest thing going natural made me do was form my own group, Naturals of RVA. I needed to surround myself with women who is going through the same journey as me. This way I could learn from them and vice versa.

If your hair could talk what would it say?
“You aint bout that life”

Do you consider yourself a Knotty Girl? and why?
I am very much a Knotty Girl!!!! I don’t let my hair predict my whereabouts. I feel like a Knotty Girl isn’t afraid of the world that can be so cruel and judgmental. You can be whoever you want to be as a Knotty Girl.

What do you love most about your good head?(Hair Everyone Adores & Desires)
*cough cough*  I love that my hair is versatile, not like any other, I love that it shrinks then I get to pull a few strands and be like WOW and I also love that everyone else loves it!!! 🙂 And I always tell myself, it’s just hair, it will grow back.

Leave a Reply

