Don’t Stop, Big Chop: Courtney

26 Nov

Why did you bigchop?

I big chopped for numerous reasons, If you go back to my 2 year natural anniversary you can read why here. Another reason that I didn’t talk about is because I wanted to do something different to my hair. I was always trying new things with my hair. I’ve had long hair, short hair, red hair and orange hair ( sounds like a Dr. Seuss book lol) and the only thing that was left was natural hair. When my hair was straight I also loved to wear rod sets and pin curls and figured why not go for a more permanent look.

When did you big chop? 

The first time I big chopped was on August 6, 2010 and the second time was October 23rd,2010. 

What made you big chop again? 

I big chopped for the 2nd time because I wanted to see my hair in a new style. When I big chopped for the first time it was just to get the relaxer out of my hair but for the 2nd time I wanted to play around with some new styles since I know how to take care of my natural hair and know what it needs to flourish. I also had suffered from some heat damage. It wasn’t noticeable but I knew it was there and that bothered me.

How did you feel? What was your reaction?

I felt great. I love my big chop way more the 2nd time around since it was in a style.

What are you doing to take care of your hair?

I co-wash my hair once a week with Tresemme Naturals moisturizing conditioner. Then I apply JBCO to my hair and seal with Giovonni’s weightless moisture leave in. I only wash my hair with shampoo once a month.

Do your regret your decision?

Not at all. I know it is hair and will grow all back.

What words of encouragement would you give someone contemplating the big chop? 

Just do it. You will never know how you look with something until you try it.

Leave a Reply

