Good HEAD: Jimeka

4 Dec

Knotty

 Introduce yourself !

Greetings! My name is Jimeka and my roots are from the beautiful island of Jamaica. I’ve lived in New York, Maryland, DC, and I currently reside in Richmond, VA.

How long have you been natural?

I began transitioning in December of 2009. So, I have been natural going on 3 years.

Did you transition or big chop?Knotty3

I definitely transitioned., but, that quickly grew old. I started out just letting my relaxer grow out until I got tired of having two different hair textures. So, around April of 2010, I cut my relaxer off completely. I wore wigs from time to time until my edges started fading. No bueno. Finally, I just let my hair free and haven’t looked back since. I was a loose natural for a while and on August 18th of 2011, marked the birth of my locs.

Whats is your regimen?

I really don’t have a regimen. I keep it very simple. I’ve found the less my hands are in my hair, the better it responds, and the stronger it grows. And, it is growing tall like weeds. I re-twist my hair about every 6 weeks or so. I cleanse my scalp in between the time, but I just let my locs roam free.

Did going natural change your personal style?

Going natural didn’t change my personal style. I do feel that going natural expressed outwardly who I am internally. This is me. My crown enhances it.

 If your hair could talk what would it say?

Many thanks and blessings for listening to me.

Knotty 16Do you consider yourself a Knotty Girl? and why?

Of course I am a Knotty Girl! (gyal) I’ve really learned to let my locs be the lionesses they are. Strong, powerful, fearless and never faltering

What do you love most about your good head?(Hair Everyone Adores & Desires)

I love that my hair has a mind of its own. The journey it has been on has been an empowering one. From an inch of hair, to baby locs, teenage stage, and now maturity is amazing. My hair always grew fast, but once I loc’d my hair, it took off. I truly enjoy each stage my hair goes through.

IMG_5717.png

Knotty 21

Leave a Reply

